Nominations for the 2019 J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award

Nominations for the 2019 J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award

The J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award Subcommittee of the Society of American Archivists is asking you to create a nomination for the 2019 J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award.

Established in 1989, this award honors an individual, institution, or organization that promotes greater public awareness, appreciation, or support of archival activities or programs. The individual’s or institution’s contributions may take the form of advocacy, publicity, legislation, financial support, or a similar action that fosters archival work or raises public consciousness of the importance of archival work. Contributions should have broad, long-term impact at the regional level or beyond.

Eligibility: Nominees must be from outside the archives profession. Individuals directly involved in archival work, either as paid or volunteer staff, or institutions or organizations directly responsible for an archival program are not eligible for this award.

Nominations should be sent through the online submission system by February 28, 2019 at

Recent Winners Include:

  • 2018: Yvonne Lewis Holley AND Brad Meltzer
  • 2017: Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI)
  • 2016: Lin-Manuel Miranda and Ron Chernow
  • 2015: Adrena Ifill Blagburn
  • 2014: LGBT Center of Central PA History Project AND National History Day
  • 2013: AARP Virginia and Dr. Warren Stewart
  • 2012: Eve Kahn, Bebe Miller, Phillip Stewart
  • 2011: “Who Do You Think You Are?” (NBC)
  • 2010: The Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation
  • 2009: Ross King (Georgia Historical Records Advisory Board)

We appreciate your assistance!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.